A23 Poker - Acquisition
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A23 Poker - Acquisition

Driving people to the joy of playing card games


Product : A23 Poker

Brief on Gaming

What is humanity's core motivation - Is it reproduction ? Is it survival ? or is it socialisation ?

What is humanity's core motivation - Is it reproduction ? Is it survival ? or is it socialisation ?

Now lets say all of these are met ! What are we left with - a brief moment of JOY and FUN wouldn't hurt anyone.

"I feel playing games sits in a very sweet spot of providing entertainment through interaction."


My product is a real money gaming poker application, where people put in real cash for the thrill it gives them - be it making money, defeating someone, being at the brink of losing it all and winning it back.


People play games all the time to pass time but when money comes into the picture, things get serious - "Skin in the game".


A23 Poker provides the best online gaming experience of the popular card game 'poker' for its enthusiasts in the most reliable, trust worthy, non-intrusive way.

It is available on the play store and app store. Users can play with fun chips or add real money through their accounts. The market is dominated by players like Adda52, Pokerbaazi and MPL.


What the product solves ?

Poker enthusiasts want a safe and reliable platform to experience the thrill of playing anytime from anywhere.


What is the core value prop ?

With online gaming comes many challenges introduced by -

  • The random shuffling of cards (is it manipulated?)
  • Random anonymous opponents (are they bots?)
  • Fair gameplay (Fraudsters, are they colluding on the table?)
  • Is my money safe (deposit/withdrawal)
  • Addiction / gambling (responsible gaming)
  • Seamless gameplay and onboarding experience (KYC verification, Game banned in certain states ,etc.)


"A23 Poker provides a trusted ecosystem to experience in-person poker online for fun and real money."


2024-01-18-19-21-14_EDIT.org.png

Some product insights

  1. Driving initial liquidity on to the platform through Free roll tournaments proved to be a good way for attracting higher LTV players.
  2. By segregating reward tiers based on rake generated weekly, we saw an increase in 10-15% users playing higher bets.
  3. Players choose default min raise option to raise. By increasing min raise by 1.5x we were able to see an incremental increase in rake / hand



The User | ICP








ICP NAME

Mohit

Sneha

Arjun

Ramesh

Rahul

Age

35

25

28

42

20

Location

Vizag

Bangalore

Coimbatore

Gwalior

Mumbai

Company

Cab Driver

Software Engineer / Tech

Business Manager / Professional Poker Player

Business / self employed

College Student

Income /month

Rs. 50-70 K

Rs. 60-100 K

Rs. 60-120K

Rs. 3-5 L

Rs. 5 - 20K

Marital Status

Married / Kids

Married

Un married

Married / Kids

Un married

Things they are interested in

Local News / Playing with friends

Influencers / Dancing / Travel / Cinema

Travel / Sports / Gym / Read

Food / Shopping / Sharing & watching News

Online Gaming / Sports / Tech Blogs

Where do they spend time & money

Spending time with family / Local new apps / Social apps

Social Media / Fashion Brands / Food & Travel stuff / OTT / Personal well being

Fashion Brands / Poker community & events / Social Media/ Dating / Casinos

Local media apps / News / Family Time / Shopping / Markets

Gaming / OTT / Education / hobbies / Shopping

Pain Points

Want to pass time between rides in a a more interactive thrill seeking way / at the same time earn some side income / UPI cash deposits

Knows how to play Poker but doesn't find friends to play with

Main source of income and want to play with good players and platforms with high price pools and trust

Has extra money to spend / part of card playing culture / wants a safe and accessible platform

Just started learning poker through peers / craving thrill of winnings for a new game

Buying Power

Extra money earned / Med risk player / low appetite

Spends monthly income left / casual gamer / Low risk player / med appetite

High stakes / Med risk player / high appetite

Well Off / Gambler / High Risk player / high appetite

Not much to spend / plays free bets and occasional cash / low appetite

Channel

Facebook Ads

Instagram / Fun Poker apps

Community / Peers

TV Ads / social media

Friends / Social Media

Decision to Sign Up

Signed instantly / Instant Bonus reward on signup

Tried a few apps / promise of large liquidity of players

Plays on multiple apps / Rewards system / Opponent players / Trusted ecosystem

Brand & trust factor / Easy of onboarding

Tried multiple apps / bonus reward / finding beginner players

Frequency of Use / hrs per week

7- 10 hrs

1-3 hrs

20 -30 hrs

10 - 15 hrs

2 -4 hrs


Prioritization

Score out of 10 ( Best )



Blue collar workers

White Collar Worker

Professional Player

Business Owners

College Students

Adoption Curve

Low / 3

Med / 5

Low / 9

High / 3

Low / 8

Frequency of use

Med / 5

Low / 2

High / 10

Med / 8

Low / 4

Appetite to Pay

Low / 3

Med / 5

High / 9

High / 10

Low / 1

TAM

Med / 5

Low / 3

Low / 1

Low / 3

High / 6

Distribution Potential

Low / 4

Med / 7

High / 8

Low / 3

High / 7

LTV Potential
(Growth of spending power)

Low / 2

Low / 4

Med / 6

Med / 5

High / 9

Score

22

25

43

33

35



Top 3 ICPS

  1. Professional Players (ICP1)
  2. Business Owners (ICP2)
  3. Students / Young Adults (ICP3)


The Market

Real Money Gaming is a huge growing market owning to high internet penetration, population and UPI services.

TAM

External Research + Top Down + ICP


Total Gamers - 500 M

Paying gamers - 20% -= 100 M

%of RMG Card players - (15-20%) = 20 M

Split of Card Gamers between Rummy and poker 60 / 40 - 0.4 x 20 = 8 M

Potential paying poker players (PPP)= 8 M

Monthly active users (MACU) = 10% = 800 k

Avg. spend per year = Based on ICPs


ICP 1

Purchase = Rs.30-70 K / month

No. of times money rotates in the system ~ 4

Rake% (platform fees) = 3-5% = 8k / month

% of such user out of PPP = 10 % = 80 k

TAM = 40k x 8k x 12 = Rs. 8000 M


ICP 2

Purchase = Rs.100 -150 K / month

No. of times money rotates in the system ~ 4

Rake% (platform fees) = 3% = 15k / month

% of such users out of PPP = 15% = 120 k

TAM = 120k x 15k x 12 = Rs. 20000 M


ICP 3

Purchase = Rs. 0.5 -1 K / month

No. of times money rotates in the system ~ 2

Rake% (platform fees) = 5% = 1.5k / month

% of such users out of PPP = 30% = 240 k

TAM = 240 k x 1.5k x 12 = 4000 M


Total TAM = 8000+ 20000 + 4000 = Rs. 32000 M

Estimated Total TAM ~ 4000 Cr


Considering Deep internet and UPI penetration across most cities ~ 80% would be serviceable = 3200 Cr


Considering the top 3 competitors dominate the market being first movers and consider CAGR growth of 30% ~ (Assuming 30 % would be obtainable) = 0.3 x 3200 = ~ 1000 Cr



The Channel

Early Scale Stage

Considering A23 Poker has been in the market for 14 months and

achieved a good adoption rate and rapidly growing customer base.


Organic

image.png



Insights


Search for A23 provided a lot of result for Samsung A23 smartphone

A lot of traffic gets diverted to unrelated pages, sponsored ads could be a potential solution

A23 Rummy drives much greater traffic

Co-linking A23 rummy articles with poker for cross sell

General FAQ's related to poker like how to play, rules are dominated by competitor

Explaining new GST rules, game formats and money safety can be viable alternatives

Shahrukh Khan being a brand ambassdor is not being leveraged

Keyword search for Shahrukh can be a new pipeline for poker related content


Paid

CAC = Rs. 2000

AOV (rake / month) = Avg purchase x No. of times money rotates in the system x Frequency

LTV = AOV x margin % x retention = 10000 x 3 x 4 x 0.04 x 4 = 19200


CAC : LTV = 1 : 9


Marketing Pitches



Objective

Marketing Pitch

ICP1

Reward options for high value customers
(Rakeback is a poker term on giving back some % of platform fee for consistently raking )

"Get rakeback upto Rs. 10000 on high rolling tables"


Adding higher amount requires paying higher GST, as a system we pay GST on behalf on customers

"No GST on adding cash"
- A23 Poker will pay for you


ICP2

Promoting a safe and reliable ecosystem

"Aao Sath Khelien"
Sharukh Khan giving sense of trust and integrity


Promoting total offerings as a product in terms of game formats, high prize tournaments

"Rs. 1 Cr + prize winnings in weekly freerolls "

ICP3

Nudging for signup and first purchase

"Get bonus upto Rs. 5000 on adding just Rs. 100 "

Selecting ICP1




Channel Selection

Card game related content, Multiple payment apps, Gaming Apps

Channels : Facebook, Moloco

Audience Segment

Facebook Audience : Age 25 - 40 | Tier 2 & 3 cities | Card Games Content
Gaming Audience : Age 25 -35 | Plays card games fun apps | Tier 2 & 3 Cities | Influencer Led brands

Channel

Considering the audience

  • Is younger, a bit well-off, consumes a lot of content on card games and is rapidly growing
  • Growing working middle class
  • Increasing adoption to new technologies
  • Impactful influence led following



Selecting ICP 1 basis TAM estimate.


Campaign Structure


Objective :

  1. Drive App Install & Signups
  2. Drive first purchase - Adding money into the system (Conversions)


Ad Groups :


ICP1


Age

25 -40

Location

Maharashtra, Telangana, Karnataka, Goa

Interest Bucket

Card game searches / Casinos / website visits. shares

Device & OS

Android

Device Apps

Apps on device - Gaming, UPI Apps, Fantasy sports, social apps

Creatives




Creative

Objective

Static

Variation 1

Bano Asli Badshah

" Give a sense of big winning pull to high value audience through SRK personality"


Variation 2

"100% GST refund / Add 50 , Get upto 500 "

" Reduce initial hurdle for app install, nudge to try the game with no sunk cost"

Video

Variation 1

Sharukh Khan is waiting for his flight as normal working professional and downloads the A23 Poker app and instantly starts winning. He steps out from the flight as a rich billionaire. Upon landing he sees a private jet and says " Agli bar isko leke jayenge "

Attaching emotions of winning and thrill to experience on our platform with promises of big winnings


Variation 2

Poker khelna chahte ho, par dar lagta hai ki kahi mere sath ek aur scam na hojaye..khelo A23 Poker pe..yaha AI dwara real time cheater or fraud ko rokte hai. Aaayi khele un saikdo lakho khiladiyo ke sath

Building trust through terms of anti-fraud, responsible gaming, the huge no. of players on the platform

Variation 1 FB Ads

All In or Nothing.png


Variation 2 Instagram / Mobile Ads

100% GST Refund.png


Referral


Brag worthy thing about product -

  1. Winning big money
  2. Instant withdrawals
  3. Bonus Rewards


Platform currency -

Bonus Cash - playable in game credits which can be used to play games and enter tournaments


Happy Moments

AHA Factor (1-5)

Wins a streak of games

2

Wins a Tournament / Prize money credited

5

Mission Completed / Bonus Received

1

Redeem / Withdraw (Taking money won on platform back to your bank account)

4

Choosing Redeem User flow for Referral


Happy moment on getting money back + winnings upon withdrawal


Why?


  1. No. of different players with Tournament winnings over a period of time would be low
  2. Validation for moment - Could have performed less than expected in Tournament
  3. Once a successful withdrawal has occurred, it signifies range of feelings - capitalizing money won, trust with the system, validation of successful exchange



Redeem User flow

image.png

Whom should you ask for referral?


Conditions

KYC Verified

Instant Redeem Selected

Total Winnings > Added Cash

Withdrawal Successful

Discovery

In - App Notification


image.png

Referral Program

  1. Total Bonus earned by referring
  2. Easy to share social options
  3. Rewards progress journey - Unlocking based on refers
  4. Progression in journey only on add cash by referee
  5. Referral Leaderboard for validation


Refer and Earn Landing Page

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Example of WhatsApp Message

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